Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Skip to main content Skip to page navigation

This year we awarded six graduate research scholarships. The successful recipients are:

  • Alice Evans, University of Canterbury.
    Research topic: Assessment of tsunami risk, exposure and evacuation capacity of remote coastal communities on the lower East Coast of the North Island, New Zealand.
  • Lucy Groenhart, University of Auckland.
    Research topic: Valuing the costs and benefits of active mobility: A case study in Māngere, Auckland.
  • Sienna MacArthur-Beadle, University of Otago
    Research topic: An educational narrative intervention targeting children’s pedestrian safety around railway level crossings.
  • Lily McSweeney, University of Canterbury.
    Research topic: Scenarios for incentivising use of alternative transport in New Zealand: Travel demand management in Wellington and Christchurch.
  • Yvonne Mitchell, University of Otago.
    Research topic: Perspectives of young New Zealanders on driver licensing and road safety.
  • Fred Smithers, University of Auckland
    Research topic: Investigating the relationship between changes to urban density and transport patterns in Auckland since 2000: An in-depth analysis.

If you have any questions about these scholarships, email


Back to news