

Cabinet Environment, Energy and Climate Committee

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

Public Transport Operating Model: Release of Discussion Document

Portfolio Transport

On 15 April 2021, the Cabinet Environment, Energy and Climate Committee

- 1 **noted** that the discussion document on the review of the Public Transport Operating Model (PTOM) (the discussion document), attached to the submission under ENV-21-SUB-0011, proposes new overarching objectives for PTOM:
 - 1.1 competitors have access to public transport markets;
 - 1.2 public transport is an attractive mode of transport;
 - 1.3 there is sustainable provision of services;
 - 1.4 the environmental impact of public transport service delivery reduces over time;
- 2 **noted** that the discussion document proposes that the parameters for the 2025 zero emission bus mandate are:
 - 2.1 a start date of 1 July 2025;

2.2 that zero emission is defined as zero emissions from the tailpipe;

that the mandate would apply to when buses are first registered in New Zealand;

- **noted** that the discussion document indicates the government:
 - 3.1 does not anticipate mandating particular ownership or procurement models to enable decarbonisation of the bus fleet;
 - 3.2 does not anticipate making recommendations on the future status of individual exempt services;
- 4 **agreed** that the discussion document can be published, with minor editorial changes as necessary to support public engagement;

2.3

3

5 **invited** the Minister of Transport to report back to Cabinet on the second half of 2021 on the outcomes of consultation and engagement, and to detail the next steps of the PTOM review.

Vivien Meek Committee Secretary

Present: ister for ENV CINCIPALITY Officials present from: Hon Dr Megan Woods Office of the Prime Minister Hon David Parker (Chair) Hon Nanaia Mahuta Hon Damien O'Connor Hon Stuart Nash Hon Willie Jackson Hon Michael Wood Hon Phil Twyford Hon James Shaw Rino Tirikatene, MP Hard-copy distribution: Minister of Transport